Minutes — August 2015 Project Development Committee Meeting

2015 Council and Committee Meetings


Committee Members Present

  • Gladys Cortez, Chair
  • Kimberly Blackmon
  • Mateo Delgado
  • Mary Durheim, Council Chair
  • Ivy Goldstein, DSHS
  • Sara Kendall, DARS
  • Scott McAvoy
  • David Taylor
  • John Thomas
  • Rick Tisch

Committee Members Absent

  • Andrew Crim
  • Diana Kern
  • Dana Perry
  • Cindy Swain, TEA

Guest Present

  • Carrie Warner

Staff Present

  • Beth Stalvey, Executive Director
  • Martha Cantu
  • Joanna Cordry
  • Cynthia Ellison
  • Danny Fikac
  • Fernando Rodriguez

Staff Absent

  • Sonya Hosey
  • Wendy Jones
  • Susan Mihalik

Call To Order

The Project Development Committee met on Thursday, August 6, 2015, at the Embassy Suites San Marcos Hotel at 1001 East McCarty Lane, San Marcos, Texas 78666. Chair Gladys Cortez called the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m. A quorum was present.

  1. Introduction of Committee Members, Staff And Visitors
    Committee members, staff and guests were introduced.

  2. Public Comments
    No public comments were offered.

  3. Approval Of Minutes
    The Committee reviewed minutes of the May 7, 2015, Project Development Committee meeting.

    MOTION: To approve the minutes of the May 7, 2015, Project Development Committee.
    MADE BY: Richard Tisch
    SECOND: Scott McAvoy
    ABSTENTION: John Thomas
    The motion passed with one abstention.

  4. Chair’s Remarks
    No comments were offered.

  5. Member Updates
    Richard Tisch has been selected as a board member to The Center in Houston.

    The Committee had a brief discussion about why representatives from state agencies that were not on the Project Development Committee are now on it and how this might appear to be a conflict of interest if the agency wishes to apply for a TCDD grant.

  6. Staff Reports
    1. Status of New/Approved Projects
      Cynthia Ellison, Senior Grant Specialist, reported that no new grants were started since the last quarter.

      The following continuation awards were approved by the Executive Committee:

      1. The Arc of Texas
      2. Volar Center for Independent Living
      3. Texas Tech University

    2. Projected Available Funds
      Martha Cantu, Operations Director, reported that TCDD has budgeted $645,000 for planned projects. From FY 2014 there is money that will be rolled over into FY 2015. In FY 2015 the TCDD is $416,000 in positive. A positive balance is projected for FY 2016. There were no questions for Cantu.

    3. Other Updates
      The Executive Committee approved funding for “Culturally Appropriate Family Supports” for two of the six organizations that submitted applications:

      1. Light and Salt Association, an organization that supports Asian-American families
      2. Reaching Families Advocacy and Support Group (REACh), supporting and advocating for East African immigrant families

      Joanna Cordry, Planning Coordinator, informed the Committee that no applications were received in response to the “Texas Faith Inclusion Network for People with Disabilities.

      The following RFP are closed and proposals are being reviewed:

      1. TCDD Policy Fellows

  7. Partners in Policymaking Executive Summary
    Cordry presented information on Partners in Policymaking. The Committee members discussed this project at some length and had several concerns about sustainability, cost and Partners involvement after the completion of the training. As a result of these concerns the Committee directed staff to research additional options for the facilitation of Partner in Policymaking that would be less expensive and result in higher measurable participation of attendees after the completion of the program.

    The Executive Summary for Partners in Policymaking was not recommended for approval at this time. Staff is to gather more information and report back in November 2015.

  8. Future Project Funding Priorities
    No changes were made.

  9. Other Discussion Items
    No additional items present for discussion.


No additional items present for discussion.

Beth Stalvey, Secretary to the Council